Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence


Important Dates

  • Must be submitted by
    June 7, 2017, no later than
    11 p.m., Central Time

  • Winners will be announced in November 2017.

Submit your book

Enter Contest


If you have questions, please contact the Gayle Wilson Constest Coordinator at


For Published Authors

The Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence, sponsored by RWA chapter Southern Magic, was conceived in honor of multi-RITA Winner Gayle Wilson to award excellence in published romance fiction. The contest is judged by avid readers of romance, booksellers, and/or librarians. The winners of each category are awarded a custommade golden lapel pin. Winners will also be included in a full-page RWR advertisement.
View the Previous Winners
2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010
2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016
2017 Fee

$25 for each book. Payment will be made on the RWA website via PayPal, which also allows for credit card payment or by check.


All authors of novel-length or novella-length romance fiction (traditionally and selfpublished)

Entry Requirements

Books must have an original publication date and copyright of 2016. Electronic books may be entered when not available in print. Must provide a copyright page produced by the publisher. Limit of two books per author and author must provide four copies of the entered book, which will not be returned.

Once you have submitted your entry form and paid for your entry, you will be contacted with instructions on where and how to send your book for judging.



  • Historical
  • Romantic Suspense
  • Paranormal, Fantasy & Science Fiction
  • Contemporary
  • Teen/YA
  • Inspirational
  • New Adult
  • Novella (20,000-40,000 Words)

Note: If a category receives less than 5 entries, the author has the option to move that entry into another category or withdraw the entry (with refund of entry fee). Books cannot be returned.


Avid readers of romance, booksellers, and/or librarians (authors may not judge this contest).

For More Information

Gayle Wilson Contest Coordinators
Julia Muscari and Katherine Kobey