2014 Board of Directors

Naima Simone 

Vice President
Cara Dawn Jones 

Meda White

Kat Jones

Membership Chair
Kelly Jackson


Other Valuable Positions

Newsletter Editor
Carla Swafford

Jennifer Echols

Luncheon Committee 
Laura Hayden, Ali Hubbard, & Heather Leonard

PAN Liaison
Suzanne Johnson

PRO Liaison
Tereasa Burkett

Milestones & Recognition
Ella Grace

Social Media
Callie James

Contest Coordinators, Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence
Heather Cover & Julia Muscari

Contest Coordinator, Linda Howard Award of Excellence
Julie Hinz



New: Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence winners!

Mission Statement

Southern Magic promotes excellence in romantic fiction, helps writers become published and establish careers in their writing field, and provides continuing support for writers within the romance publishing industry.

Why the name Southern Magic?

We took it from the city where we hold our meetings. Between 1881 and 1920, Birmingham, Alabama, grew at such an astounding rate that it earned the nickname "The Magic City." Check out the history.

Got the magic? Want to join us?

Please come for a visit! Visitors must be 18 or older. You may attend two general meetings in a 12-month period without joining. Visitors who wish to attend more often must join Southern Magic.

Members must be 18 or older in accordance with Romance Writers of America® (RWA) rules. You must be a member of RWA to join Southern Magic. Click here to find out more about becoming an RWA member. Once you receive your RWA number, you can join Southern Magic.

Click here to print out a membership form to join Southern Magic. Attach the form to an email and send to membership@southernmagic.org. Or click on the button below to do it all in one step.

Then pay the $25 membership fee via PayPal. Send funds to treasurer@southernmagic.org. Or pay via check made out to Southern Magic, Inc., and mail to Southern Magic RWA, P.O. Box 241312, Montgomery, AL 36124.

Membership Renewal

Pay the $20 renewal fee via PayPal. Send funds to treasurer@southernmagic.org. Or pay via check made out to Southern Magic, Inc., and mail to Southern Magic RWA, P.O. Box 241312, Montgomery, AL 36124.


Renee Andrews
Fred Arceneaux
Chris Bailey
Rita Bay
Kenya Bell
Angela Blount
Betty Bolte'
Katherine Bone
Diana Bristow
Tereasa Burkett
Marie Campbell
Susan Carlisle
Brina Cary
Jillian Chantal
Richard A. Colbert
Alicia Coleman
Louisa Cornell
Heather Cover
Lisa Dunick
Jennifer Echols
J. D. Elliott
Jamie Farrell
Larynn Ford
Kerry Freeman
M. V. Freeman
Bonnie Gardner
Lexi George
Debby Giusti

Debra Glass
Christine Glover
Ella Grace
Paula Graves
Lynn Raye Harris
Cat Hartnett
Laura Hayden
Nancy Herkness
Gwen Hernandez
Julie Hinz
Jean Hovey
Ali Hubbard
Callie James
Suzanne Johnson

Julie Johnstone
Cara Dawn Jones
Kat Jones
Stephanie Jones
Debbie Kaufman
Mina Khan
Amanda Kin
Aidee Ladnier
Heather Leonard
Roma Lightsey
Pam Mantovani

Pamela Mason
Hildie McQueen
Anna Michaels
Julia Muscari
Jill Odom
Alicia Hunter Pace
Karen Ray
Christy Reece
Susan E. Reynolds
Sonya Rogers
Susannah Sandlin
Beth Scharwath
Ingrid Seymour
Naima Simone
Kira Sinclair
Paisley Smith
Pat Spiller
Philisha B. Stephens
Carla Swafford
Terry Lynn Thomas
Kellie Thornton
JoAnn Weatherly
Peggy Webb
Susan West-Keyser
Meda White
Gayle Wilson

Copyright 2014 Southern Magic, Inc., RWA Chapter 178